6 Indian States Get New Governors

New Delhi. July 16, 2019: BJP veteran and former Odisha minister Biswa Bhusan Harichandan and former BJP MP from Madhya Pradesh Anusuiya Uikey were on Tuesday appointed Governors of Andhra Pradesh and Chhattisgarh respectively.
“The President of India is pleased to make the appointments of Anusuiya Uikey as Governor of Chhattisgarh and Biswa Bhusan Harichandan as Governor of Andhra Pradesh,” an official communique from Rashtrapati Bhavan said. Harichandan will replace E S L Narasimhan, who is also Governor of Telangana, while Uikey will replace Madhya Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel, who was holding additional responsibility of Chhattisgarh. Patel was given charge following the death of Governor Balram Das Tandon last year.
Harichandan, a Jana Sangh leader, was BJP state President in Odisha. He had also served as Law Minister in the state.
Uikey was an MLA from Madhya Pradesh. She also served as a member of the National Commission for Women. She was elected to Rajya Sabha in 2006 and had served as member of various parliamentary standing committees
Narasimhan, a former IB director, was appointed Governor of Andhra Pradesh in December, 2009 and Telangana was added to his responsibilities in June, 2014 when the new state was formed. Narasimhan is the only UPA-appointed governor to have survived in the Narendra Modi-led NDA regime. Between 2007 and 2009, he was Governor of Chhattisgarh. (Agency )

The President of India is pleased to make the following appointments/ changes:-

(i)          Smt. Anandiben Patel, Governor of Madhya Pradesh is transferred and appointed as Governor of Uttar Pradesh

(ii)        Shri Jagdeep Dhankhar as Governor of West Bengal

(iii)       Shri Ramesh Bais as Governor of Tripura

(iv)       Shri Lal Ji Tandon, Governor of Bihar is transferred and appointed as Governor of Madhya Pradesh

(v)         Shri Phagu Chauhan as Governor of Bihar

(vi)       Shri R. N. Ravi as Governor of Nagaland

2.      The above appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices.

About the author

SK Vyas

SK Vyas

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Interesting News

SAFU (State Anti Fraud Unit) has issued 15 Show-cause Notices to erring Hospitals
DC issues advisory, verify hospital empanelment under government Bima Yojna before treatment
State level Youth Festival 2020 to start from January 30 at Chandigarh University
Police books two wendors selling  banned Chinese thread
Two day PU Media Fest 'SOCH' to begin today; Alumni Meet on Saturday
CBI registers case against a Pvt. Company's Directors casing loss RS.819.48 Cr
151 नवजन्मी बच्चियों के सम्मान में जिला प्रशासन की तरफ से आयोजित जिला स्तरीय लोहड़ी कार्यक्रम में डिप्टी कमिश्नर ने किया ऐलान
Students of HMV Collegiate Sr. Sec School outshined in International English Olympiad
Graduate Government College for Girls first ‘Eat Right Campus” of Chandigarh

Subscribe by Email:

Most Liked