Chandigarh Education

Annual Prize Distribution Function of Youth Welfare held at PU

By Madhur Vyas
Chandigarh April 2, 2019: Department of Youth Welfare, Panjab University, Chandigarh
organised the annual Prize Distribution Function, here today.
        PU Vice-Chancellor, Prof Raj Kumar, while addressing the
students urged the students to participate in Cultural Activities for
the development of their personality.
        PU VC opined that Co-curricular activities are must to develop
the overall personality of the students. He appreciated the efforts of
the department by organizing such activities with the involvement of
students. PU VC assured of all assistance from PU authorities and
officials. He elaborated about various administrative changes being
brought out in order to expedite the redressal system.
                Director of Youth Welfare Dr. Nirmal Jaura informed that
the Department of Youth Welfare is  in the process to organize various
functions on Jallianwala Bagh Centenary  and on the Parkash Purab of
Sri Guru Nanak Dev ji in near future.
        Dr. Parvinder Singh, Controller  of Examination, PU  in his
address said that colleges are an integral part of University System
and their contribution in academics, extra-curricular activities and
Youth Festivals is commendable. He stressed that necessary steps are
being taken to improve the infrastructure under the guidance of VC who
is reaching out to colleges for all the over development.  He
congratulated the winners of the awards.
        The Overall Vice Chancellor’s  Trophy in cultural activities
during this session, has been won by Dev Samaj College for Women,
Ferozepur while Baba Kundan Singh College, Ferozepur and Khalsa
College for Women, Ludhiana were declared runner-ups.
        University Role of Honours and University Colors were also
awarded to the students who achieved National Level positions in the
field of Culture and Literature.
        On this occasion DCDC Dr Sanjay Kaushak, Director Sports  Dr
Parminder Singh, Dr AS Ahluwalia  former DSW, Principal Dr Madhu
Prashar, Dr Surjit Singh Sidhu, Dr Mukti Gill, Dr Inderjit Kaur, Dr
Neena Seth Pajni, Dr Daljit Kaur  along with teachers and students
from various colleges, were also present.