National Sports

Priyanka of Tamil Nadu emerges champ in National U-17 Chess

By Balbir Singh
CHANDIGARH, SEPTEMBER 12, 2018: Tarini Goyal of Chandigarh scored 7.5 points in 11 rounds to secure the joint third place in the National Under-17 Chess Championship 2018 which concluded in Sonipat, Haryana today. The Class XII student of Sacred Heart Senior Secondary School remained unbeaten throughout the tournament to reach this tally and was awarded a cash prize of  Rs 7000.
Tarini was, however, placed at the sixth position in the final ranking due to the complicated tie-break system although she shared the same number of points with the third, fourth, and fifth position holders.
Priyanka K of Tamil Nadu emerged champion by securing  9.5 points. WCM  Jyothsna, also of Tamil Nadu was runner-up with nine points.
Nearly 126 boys and 72 girls from different states across the country participated in the Championship. Priyanka K of Tamil Nadu bagged the Championship in the girls category.
Having faced five players from Tamil Nadu, three from Andhra Pradesh, two from Maharashtra and one from Telangana, she scored wins over Laya M, Kalyani B, Narayani Adane and Bhagyashree Patil. However, she had to settle for draws with the Silver medalist Jyothsna L, Bronze medalist Harshini A (both from Tamil Nadu) Tejasvi M, Srimathi R, Toshali V, Bommini Akshaya and Rindhiya V.
Appreciating her performance Sh Naveen Bansal, Vice President, Chandigarh Chess Association and Dr Vipnesh Bhardwaj, Honorary Secretary, CCA said that Tarini has the potential to go much further and bring greater pride to the city. Sister Nisha, Principal of Sacred Heart School has also appreciated her performance.
Rankings: 1 Priyanka K (TN)  9.5 pts; 2 WCM  Jyothsna L (Tamil Nadu) 9.0; 3 WFM  Harshini A (TN) 7.5; 4 WFM Arpita Mukherjee (West Bengal) 7.5; 5  Tejasvi M (TN) 7.5;  6  WFM Tarini Goyal (Chandigarh) 7.5;  7 Toshali V (AP) 7.5; 8 Sanskriti Goyal (UP) 7; 9 WFM  Tanishka Kotia (Haryana) 7; 10 WCM Mrudul Dehankar (Mah) 7; 11  Adane Narayani (Mah) 7; 12  Pandey Srishti  (Mah)7; 13 Ghosh Samriddhaa (West Bengal) 7; 14 WFM Bommini Mounika Akshaya (AP) 7; 15 WCM    Jain Nityata (MP) 7; 16     Garima Gaurav (Bihar) 7; 17 Bhagyashree Patil (Mah) 6.5; 18     Kalyani B (AP) 6.5; 19 Benasir M (TN) 6.5; 20  Shriya R Revankar (Karnataka) 6.5; 21  Parakh Niyati (Chhatisgarh) 6.5.( Courtesy: