Unaided Colleges Urged Finance Ministry for Bailout Package

Unaided Colleges Urged Finance Ministry for Bailout Package

By YS.Rana :

Mohali–Punjab Unaided Colleges Association (PUCA) urged Smt Nirmala Sitharaman, Finance Minister of India for the bailout packages for the education sector in view of the severe impact of CoronaVirus outbreak on the Education Sector.

In a letter written to the Union Minister of Finance, Dr Anshu Kataria, President, PUCA said that unaided colleges were already going through a tough phase financial crisis because of pending Post Matric Scholarship (PMS) towards the Centre and State Government. Mr Kataria further said that because of the lockdown the revenue which colleges used has stopped but the expenditure continued to swell.                                       

Amit Sharma, Senior Vice President, PUCA said that the Education sector has been adversely affected due to this problem. Many of the States including Punjab have not been disbursed the Post Matric Scholarship (PMS) funds for the last 3 years which Centre government used to disburse through the State Governments. Even in Punjab around 1850 crore was due and causing huge financial crunch.

Gurpreet Singh, General Secretary, PUCA said that such a situation has not only created trouble for colleges but also for thousands of employees working in these colleges.  

Ashok Garg, Treasurer, PUCA said that banks were not giving any moratorium on interest or installment, waiver of interest or restructuring of debt to support the education sector. He said that the education sector needs immediate attention as hundreds of colleges were on the brink of close down if the same situation continues for a few more weeks

Gurfateh Gill, Vice President; S. Gurkirat Singh, Joint Secretary-I, CA Renu Arora, Joint Secretary-II;  Manav Dhawan,  Tricity Coordinator, Cherry Goyal, Malwa-I Coordinator;  Monty Garg, Malwa-II Coordinator;  Dr. Akashdeep Singh, Majha Coordinator and  Sanjeev Chopra, Doaba Coordinator; Dr. Guninderjit Jwanda, Head Scholarship Dept along with other executive members including Rajesh Garg, CA Venus Jindal,  Shivom Vashishat,  Mohit Mahajan,  Manpreet Kaur Bhogal, Dr. Jeewan Jyoti Sidana executive members etc also urged the same.

About the author

SK Vyas

SK Vyas

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

All Time Favorite